Lo and Behold the Texas Sheet Cake

July 13, 2009

If my blogging promises (ahem, refer to the 6/23 post) are any indication of what I’ll be like as a mother, my children will constantly be waiting for me to take them to the promised Disney Land, arcade or park. They’ll ask me each day when we’re going and I’ll reply, “Mommy’s gotta work late, kid. I’ll try to find time tomorrow.” Then two weeks later, I’ll finally come through and fulfill my promise. Then to make sure they forget how negligent I am, I’ll tell them they can have Texas Sheet Cake for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Back to the blog world, work has been consuming and I have been neglecting this. I’m going to scale back to a couple posts a week instead of my unattainable goal of five times a week. This way I can follow my brother’s lifelong mantra and keep expectations low so I can easily meet them.

Anyway, here you have the (possibly) much anticipated recipe for the easiest, moistest, most delicious cake.

Texas Sheet CakeTexas Sheet Cake

Texas Sheet Cake

2 C sugar

2 C flour

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp baking powder

1 C water

2 stick margarine

4 Tbs cocoa powder

2 eggs

3/4 C low fat sour cream

1 tsp vanilla

Mix first four ingredients in a large mixing bowl. Heat water, margarine and cocoa in a sauce pan to boil, stirring occasionally. Pour liquid over dry ingredients and mix. Mix in eggs, sour cream and vanilla. Bake in a parchment paper-lined 9×13 dish at 350 for 30-35 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean when inserted into the center.

Frosting

1 stck margarine

4 Tbs cocoa powder

5 Tbs milk

1 tsp vanilla

2 C powder sugar

Bring first three ingredients to boil in saucepan then gradually mix in remaining ingredients. Let cool slightly before frosting cake.

Leave a Reply

