Tom Petty: Music Video Prince

February 27, 2009

When I was a kid, I’d race from the car into the living room to turn on MTV so that I could watch the video of the song I had just been listening to. Except for one magical time, the video was never on MTV. I guess I wasn’t a fast enough runner.

Tom Petty videos fill a lot of my early MTV memories. “Runnin’ Down a Dream” was a cartoon, “Don’t Come Around Here No More” was a real life version of Alice and Wonderland and “Mary Jane’s Last Dance” played out like a modern day Brothers Grimm story. Add in good music and fun hats and what kid wouldn’t love Tom Petty? Here are some of my favorites videos. The jerks at Universal won’t let me embed the videos so you’ll have to take the extra step and click on each of the images.

Runnin Down a Dream

Runnin' Down a Dream

Don't Come Around Here No More

Don't Come Around Here No More

Into the Great Wide Open

Into the Great Wide Open

Mary Jane's Last Dance

Mary Jane's Last Dance